History of Alabama Genealogy

Alabama County records vary widely from county to county in both quality and quantity. Some have been carefully preserved while others have been much abused and neglected. Some Alabama records have simply disappeared. Other scattered records are now preserved by the Alabama Department of Archives and History, the University of Alabama Library, and the Samford University Library. Each Alabama County Page includes genealogy and Family History information and addresses for County Court Records , Probate Records, Land Records, Tax Records, County Census Records, History County, Birth Records, Marriage Records, Divorce Records, Death Records, Cemeteries, Graveyards, Church & Bible Records.

Alabama was admitted as the 22nd state on December 14, 1819. Alabama has 67 Counties. Montgomery is the capital of Alabama.

Alabama is bordered by Florida (south), Georgia (east), Mississippi (west) and Tennessee (north). Alabama has a land area of 52,423 square miles making it the 30th largest state.

The 2010 population of Alabama was 4,779,736. Alabama’s largest cities are Birmingham (231,483), Montgomery (200,127), Mobile (191,544), Huntsville (166,313), Tuscaloosa (81,358), Hoover (67,469), Dothan (62,713), Decatur (54,909), Auburn (49,928), Gadsden (37,405). [All pop. number are as of 2005].

The State name of Alabama is dirived from the Alabama River by early European explorers and named “Alibamu” after the local Indian tribe. The early pioneers spelled the name in many ways, including “Kaintuckee” and “Cantuckey.” The Alabama State Nickname is Heart of Dixie, “Yellowhammer State”. The Alabama State Motto is “Audemus jura nostra defendere” – We Dare Defend Our Rights

Alabama contains some counties that no longer exist because they were discontinued, renamed or merged with another county. These are important for Alabama genealogy research purposes. Those Alabama counties are:

  • Benton County, Alabama: (Formed 1832 from former Creek Indian territory and named for Colonel Thomas Hart Benton. Renamed Calhoun County in 1858, honor of John C. Calhoun of South Carolina)
  • Jones County, Alabama: (Formed 1867, renamed Sanford County in 1868, Renamed Lamar County in 1877)
  • Hancock County, Alabama: (Formed 1850, renamed Winston County in 1858)
  • Sanford County, Alabama: (Formed in 1867 as Jones County, renamed Sanford County in 1868, renamed Lamar County in 1877)
  • Cahawba County, Alabama: (Renamed Bibb County in 1820)
  • Baine County, Alabama (renamed Etowah County in 1868)
  • Baker County, Alabama (renamed Chilton County in 1874)

Tags: , ,